Viennese Biscuits #noswirlswarley

So there I am, sitting in class, pretending to do work and it hit me – I need dessert. It’s amazing how recently my body clock has been so thrown off that I’ve been ditching the usual food routine of breakfast, snack, lunch, snack, dinner, snack, etc. Instead, it’s been dinner for breakfast and breakfast for dinner!

I recently got invited to a dinner party, and at the request of the wonderful host who has seen my blog and witnessed my cooking, I was asked to make a dessert (not that this was a great sacrifice, mind you!)

And here we have it – my take on the Viennese Swirl, cause let’s face it, what student has a pastry kit at home. #notthisone #worstfoodbloggerever

A tleast the taste made up for it! ( I know those ladies won’t complain!)

 

Ingredients:

 

Biscuits-

250 g butter (very warm)

50g icing sugar

200g flour

50g cornflour

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

 

Filling-

Jam

200g icing sugar

100g butter (very warm)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

 

Steps:

  1. Mix the butter, flour, icing sugar, cornflour, vanilla extract in a mixing bowl with an electric whisk until smooth, milk may be added if necessary.

IMG_2413

  1. Set oer to 190 C.
  2. Put small amounts on grease paper and place in oven for 10-15 minutes until golden brown.
  3. Take out and let cool.

IMG_2427

  1. Put icing sugar, butter, and vanilla extract in another bowl to make filling and mix with wooden spoon until smooth. Water may be added if necessary.

 

IMG_2422

  1. Once cookies are cooled, place the filling on one half and jam on the other, and place together to make sandwhich-like appearance.

IMG_2424

 

IMG_2435

IMG_2439

 

ENJOY!!

One thought on “Viennese Biscuits #noswirlswarley”

Leave a Reply

